<img height="1" width="1" style="display:none"src="https://www.facebook.com/tr?id=557294838837364&ev=PageView&noscript=1"/>

Charities and CIC's

Testimonials

Joanna Cash, Bereavement Support Worker, Cruse Bereavement Care

‘I found the training informative and appropriated the recommend reading as both have helped to fill any small gaps in my information or confidence and reassured me that what I have been doing is the right approach’. 

PABBS – Isle of Man – October 2022

Jo King, Service Manager, Swindon & Gloucester MIND

‘This training is essential for those supporting individuals through such difficult times. I learnt so much, and feel so much more confident to use the tools  in my practice’.

PABBS – Gloucester – September 2022

Emma Beynon, Freelance Creative Writing Practitioner

‘Thank you for a really powerful day of training led by Angela and Yinka, it was informative, provoking and authentic. I valued the opportunity to listen to people with lived experience deliver such comprehensive evidence based knowledge and insights. The training was well structured with sufficient moments in the day for us to share our response and experiences. It certainly developed my understanding of this complex and poignant issue in a practical and yet profound way’.

PABBS – POWYS – September 2022

Cai Tomos, Integrated Arts Psychotherapist, Independant Artist

‘I found the training to be so valuable and so necessary.  Its a rare thing to be in a space where we as professionals can unpack the complexity of suicide and its impact on individuals and society at large. To be together as we wade through opinions, biases, fears and hopes in a mutually supportive and held training. What I found to be most powerful was the emphasis on raw and current statistics around suicide, and how sharing the personal impact of that data makes it more likely that we become agents of change. The training gave everyone space to speak from both  a personal and professional perspective about the impact of suicide ,  and to speak from the heart in a safe and compassion centred context’.

PABBS – POWYS – September 2022

Lizzie Smith, Suicide Liason Officer, Sunflowers

‘The PABBS training I recently attended was facilitated beautifully by Angela and Yinka. They created a safe space for members of the group to share personal and professional experiences of bereavement by suicide. Having recently started a role specifically relating to the topic the content was invaluable in growing my understanding of postvention support. The day was full, interactive, very reflective, and a real opportunity not only to learn but to network with other organisations in the local area. Cannot recommend highly enough. Thank you’.

PABBS – POWYS – September 2022

Peter Bartlam, Family Liaison Worker, Lifecraft, Cambridge

Having recently joined an organisation focused on Bereavement by Suicide I was glad to be enrolled on the PABBS course. I have trained and worked in Bereavement both privately and as a volunteer. This course for me not only enhanced my learning but added to my confidence working in the Bereaved by Suicide sector. The course was delivered sensitively in a warm and friendly environment safely. The subject matter was clear and presented professionally by caring individuals. It was amazing to listen to others experiences and share the knowledge in the room. I would recommend anybody working in this sector to look at this course and understand the benefits.

PABBS – Manchester – January 2022

Paul Barrett, Transition Support Officer (North), RMA - The Royal Marines Charity

After attending the PABBS training delivered in Edinburgh, I would like to say a huge thank you, it was a privilege to meet the team and I thoroughly enjoyed the whole day. As well as learning from the evidence based information provided, it was so reassuring and positive to find the processes discussed current with the practices used. Albeit a very emotive day it was a pleasure meeting all in attendance and the delivery excellent. Once again thank you and all the team, wishing you every success in delivering the PABBS training to others in the future!

PABBS – Edinburgh – February 2022

Terry Holland, Voluntary Worker, 3rd Sector

I recently attended the PABBS training. I would highly recommend it for any members of services or organisations that support people bereaved and affected by the suicide of another; especially those frontline services that encounter these tragic events and have to provide immediate support. The training benefits from being, as it proudly says, evidence based. That evidence, from national and international research, underpins all aspects of the training day. But the day also offered additional and important insights from the trainers’ own lived experience of being bereaved by suicide. That helped ‘ground’ and contextualise the theory and put real experience of surviving this loss at the centre of what presented and shared. We were asked at the outset what we hoped to get from the day. Mine was that my knowledge and understanding, and my practice in my role, was ‘right’ and still relevant. It confirmed that, but also gave me new insights and perspectives that were vital and valuable.

PABBS – Manchester – February 2022

Rob Lapsley, Co-Founder & Director, Love Jasmine

The training day was delivered expertly and the fact that it was delivered by people who have genuine lived experience of the needs of families by bereaved by suicide, means it was impossible not to learn and improve from the day. The resources provided were first rate and it was also encouraging to realise that we’re actually doing a lot right in our work with bereaved families.

PABBS – Manchester – February 2022

Anna Ryder, Bereavement Counsellor, Love jasmine

I recently attended the PABBS training with Angela and Sharon and it was refreshing to be able to speak so openly on a subject matter that others may try to avoid. The day was well structured and the resources shared were exceptional. The day was well paced, engaging and Angela and Sharon set a suitable environment to ensure no question was a ‘silly question’ and welcomed them all to be asked. As an organisation, we were able to recognise what we do well, but also left us with ways to improve and with the confidence to do so.

PABBS – Manchester – February 2022

Josephine Ramm, Researcher/bereavement support volunteer

‘I found it really important that the training was backed by research, so we could be sure that we were learning what people bereaved by suicide actually want from us as professionals. It was also incredibly valuable to receive the training from people with an absolute wealth of knowledge of the field, who were also warm human and responsive to the group’

PABBS – Kent & Medway – December 2021

Fiona Gilpin, Project Lead, Emerge Advocacy

“ Such a helpful day of training with PABBS. Two very experienced trainers presenting from a place of lived experience coupled with a wealth of research experience – a very powerful combination. Informative, engaging and insightful. Highly recommended”

PABBS – KENT & MEDWAY December 2021

Roisin Martin, Bereaved Families Support Worker, PIPS Hope and Support

It was a pleasure to meet you and Angela during the PABBS Training in Belfast on 6th December 2021. […]  I had previously attended some of your zoom-based training [ON THE GO modules] so was looking forward to this particular[PABBS] training opportunity as I believed it would be a valuable opportunity for me and I was not disappointed.

I look forward to undertaking additional training with you in the future.

PABBS – Belfast – December 2021

Teresa Pollington, Support Worker, Kingfisher Treasure Seekers

I would recommend [PABBS] training course to anyone who is going to come across people bereaved by suicide either in their personal or professional life.

PABBS – GLOUCESTER – November 2021

Gail Bowstead, Support Worker, P3 Charity

The main thing I took away was the extent of the impact of one suicide is catastrophic. So much bigger than I thought before.

PABBS – GLOUCESTER – November 2021

Vicki Boggon, Suicide Bereavement Support/Suicide Safer Schools Co-ordinator, Every Life Matters

This is a brilliant course, inspiring and invigorating.  It has elements of everything from reflection, reviewing, renewing thoughts, ideas and practice within a practical, interactive and safe environment.  There are opportunities to engage, liaise and learn from others.  I loved it and it flew by.  I would thoroughly recommend it to anyone working in any area of suicide bereavement, prevention and postvention settings!  Thank you Sharon and Angela for the passion, knowledge and skills you have passed on during this session!

PABBS – Manchester – Nov 2021

John McMann, Support Worker, Northamptonshire Support after Suicide Service

‘A really worthwhile day focusing on a wide range of topics all relevant to my new role as a support worker. The course team were very welcoming and supportive which I personally found helped me get as much as I could from the training’.

PABBS – Manchester – September 2021

Chelsey Thorpe, Bereaved by Suicide Caseworker, Victim Support, Derbyshire

“PABBS training was professionally delivered, very insightful and delivered with pure excellence! Angela and Sharon filled me with confidence within my job role, the course was very inclusive of the group with workshops and break out groups, thoroughly enjoyed the course and highly recommend”

PABBS – Manchester – Sept 2021

Jenny Talbot, South Hub Coordinator, Cruse Bereavement Support

I found this training so inspiring and impactful, one of the best days training I have ever had. I am the project lead for the Sussex Bereaved by Suicide service for Cruse Bereavement Support and this training helped to reinforce that my gut feeling about how best to run the service was correct and the direction that I was taking the service was right and appropriate for individuals that have been bereaved or affected by suicide. The training and the research gave me the confidence to be an advocate for the clients and ensure that the decisions that might be made by the organisation about shaping the service were the right ones and I am now able to speak with confidence and question when needed.

PABBS – Manchester – September 14th 2021

Kathryn Jarvis, Twilight Sanctuary Support Worker, Brecon and District Mind, WALES

“Compassionately delivered, honest, informative and thought provoking training. It was great to have up to date research findings. Case study and small group work really brought thinking around supporting people to life. Lots of really useful resources and information that I can use in my role, to share with colleagues and the wider team.”

PABBS – POWYS – July 2021